Unpredictable day: Spending St Patrick’s Day In Montreal in very good Brazilian company!

St. Patrick’s Day, some years back…

Beautiful day for St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Montreal.
Where are you? you? hello!!??
You said you would go to a family birthday even though you don’t do half of them.
At least, you were conscious about that…
Well, it was still St. Patrick’s day and I was hanging out with a bunch of drunkard but happy people…
In Dublin, it is known as the climax of a five-day festival.
I see I did not prepare myself to be at the parade at St. Patrick’s at least not in Montreal that very year.

The weather was still very cold, but felt good. I, myself felt anxious though. Probably I was just missing you. I can be like that, bored by being too close but when you are not there, it feels just unbelievably unbearable…

Did Freud ever explain that?

St. Patrick is definitely one of my preferred saints.
I once felt a close feeling towards UK. I guess I still do. In Montreal, about 160.000 of the 3.4 million people in the Greater Montreal claimed their Irish heritage, according 2001 census.
In Toronto, nearly 143.000 claimed the same, even though this data was based on the immigrants counted coming from all the United Kingdom.

However, many people can be more related to the Irish heritage than me, maybe also to St. Patrick. I don’t blame them.
According to the World Book Encyclopedia, the Patron Saint of Ireland was born around the year of 389 in what is now England.
At the age of 16, he was sold into slavery in Ireland, and later he moved to France.
He returned to Ireland about 431 to work as a missionary. While there, he wrote ‘Confession’, a book that detailed his spiritual development. He also wrote ‘Letter to Coroticus’, who was a criticized English chieftain for his raid in Ireland.
Contrary to the myth, he did not flee the island of snakes by charming the reptiles and making them swim into the sea.
St. Patrick’s day was first celebrated in 1737, in Boston.
There, I can find myself very at home, very Irish.

Still, with no Irish heritage.

Leave a Reply

